Takolada

Finnaly, I visited Takolada to try their wagyu bowl sambal matah and okonomiyaki. 

Takolada

Bandung, April 26th 2017

Finnaly I visited Takolada, after I heard about it a couple time. That morning, my friend showed me an Instagram post about “wagyu bowl sambal matah” at Takolada. My interest was growing. I went there to have lunch.

takolada 1
Wagyu bowl sambal matah

I ordered the wagyu bowl, obviously. There are diced beef, scrambled eggs, carrot & green beans, nachos, and sambel matah. The rice portion is quite plenty for me. The wagyu is diced and seared. Tender and juicy. Simply done. The scramble eggs is really nice. Soft and cooked well.

There are various version of sambel matah, each with its own uniqueness. It should be raw cayenne pepper and raw shallot. This time, they also added chili. It tasted so spicy because they use many orange cayenne peppers (people usually call it cengek domba or rawit merah). Nice, but too much tongue burn for me…

20170426_141108
Octopus okonomiyaki

A modest octopus okonomiyaki comforted me as the second dish. The mixture softness, chewy octopus, crunchy vegetables, bonito flakes (katsuobushi), and the sauce is well-balanced. Ordinary Japanese recipe with beautiful eggs + flour mixture. I love it.

The foods is nicely seasoned.

For the wagyu bowl, nachos are unnecessary addition to the bowl. A crispy element is good, but using nachos that going soggy fast because of the dish heat is not a wise choice. The taste is also not quite right to complement the entire dish.

The okonomiyaki mixture wins my heart. What a simple and lovely dish. I enjoyed it.

One more thing for the wagyu bowl…

We need more diced wagyu beef in the bowl!

Leave a comment